Independent Voter Information

Independent voters must take specific action to participate in this year’s primary election for Mayor and Council Members. This is the first year Marana’s non-partisan candidates will appear on the same ballot as partisan candidates for state and federal offices.

While this consolidated ballot does not impact Marana voters registered with a political party, voters with an Independent or party not designated affiliation run the risk of missing their opportunity to vote for Mayor and Council. To avoid disenfranchisement, Independent voters need to follow these steps to cast a ballot during the 2016 primary election:

1.       Contact the Pima County Recorder’s Office at 520-742-4330 to request an early ballot.

2.       Choose the party ballot of your choice: Republican, Democrat, Libertarian, or Green Party. All of the Marana candidates will appear on each partisan ballot. -OR- Choose a local only ballot that will list just the candidates running for the Town of Marana Mayor and Council seats.

**Selecting a partisan ballot DOES NOT change a voter’s Independent registration. Also, Independent voters that do not wish to vote by mail can cast their ballot at the polls on Election Day.


  • Marana elections are non-partisan. Any registered voter, regardless of party affiliation or lack thereof, is eligible to vote in the Town’s elections. Most Arizona municipalities have non-partisan elections.
  • In six of the last eight local elections, Marana voters have elected the Mayor and Council Members at the primary election eliminating the need for a candidate general election.
  • In 2012, the Arizona State Legislature enacted A.R.S. 16-204 (2)(e) requiring all cities and towns to hold their primary and general elections in even numbered years consolidated with all state and federal offices starting in 2014.
  • All registered voters, regardless of party affiliation, can vote in the November general election. It is only Independent voters who must take additional measures to vote in the primary election.